Drive abilities are unique to the Marshal in question. Like many such abilities which are unique, they provide the restrictions and benefits in question. Since they are relatively few in number and all unique, there is no reason to detail such in the rulebook. Dodge is a higher priority for the rulebook than Drive is.
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
They called me crazy? They called me insane? THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right."
True, there are abilities that jack marshals grant warjacks (like Crush and such) but drives are unique and the rules on the card are the rules for that drive. I wonder if you can use a jack marshal ability and a drive if the rules don't conflict....I know runeshots and jack marshal abilities go together like PB and jelly.
I still don't understand what you're trying to figure out. A drive is just a special rule detailed on the card, exactly the same as any other special ability. The rule itself details the conditions of the trigger and the effects it has. What conflict are you trying to resolve?
For example, Dirty Meg has Off-Road, which says "When a warjack under this model's control begins an advance while in this model's command range <benefit>". It's pretty clear and doesn't need any kind of timing specification in the rules. Have you run into a complication with a specific drive?