Hello all! I've been running Haley3 for a bit and had a question about how press forward interacts with spellcasting. In the press forward order it states that "if a model in the unit cannot run due to some effect, such as knockdown...it can forfeit its combat action and make a full advance". Also, in the spellcasting section it says "a model cannot use its normal movement to run after casting a spell". Does that count as an effect that makes a model not be able to run?
For example, say I wanted to run baby & grandma haley to protect my flanks, but still need to cast temporal distortion. Can I cast TD, issue a press forward order, and then have baby & grandma run while prime walks? This hasn't come up yet, but I'd like to know for certain in case it does. Thanks!
Post by DoctorGandalf on May 18, 2019 15:16:10 GMT
Hi folks, sorry for the late response (was on vacation). Thanks for the infernal ruling. Forgot that orders were given out at the beginning of the turn. Still seems like kinda a weird interaction to me but now I how to handle it. Thanks both of you!
The rules forum has gone downhill. That "infernal link" says only that the linked threads contain the right answer. Yet the threads end saying the opposite things, and none of the three are locked. I'm not sure how anyone is supposed to draw an accurate conclusion from that mess. I'm not sure when infernals became allergic to stating something clearly.
There has been some recent activity in a thread on this topic. An infernal stated you cannot even cast a spell unless you have a valid charge target at the time of casting. Comments since have pointed out that this does not make sense. I think this is a poor ruling that may be overturned, but as of right now you need to take great care with charging and spellcasting.